Mixed Team Bonspiel Winners

The Mixed Team Bonspiel was held March 1st to 3rd with 16 teams competing for cash payouts. Curlers enjoyed a round robin format to decide the playoff teams as well as Friday appetizers and a Saturday banquet with food supplied by FLO Concession from the Encana Arena. Thank you to all the teams who participated. We hope to see you again next year.

The A Event winner was Team Galaxy from Sherwood Park consisting of skip Guy Algot, third Sarah Brown, second Dave Solberg and lead Dana Algot. Continue reading “Mixed Team Bonspiel Winners”

Northern Mixed Qualifier March 8-10

From March 8th to the 10th, the Rose City Curling Club will be host to one of 3 provincial qualifiers for mixed teams to advance to the Alberta Mixed Playdowns, March 27 to 31, 2019 at the Shamrock Curling Club in Edmonton. There are 13 teams from across Central Alberta competing. Live scores will be available on the Curling Alberta website and through the link below:

There are a few of our club members participating so come out and cheer them on. Admission is free and the lounge will be open to enjoy a refreshment or two. Check out the list of teams HERE.

Family Bonspiel February 18th

Register now for the Family Day Bonspiel on February 18th from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm. This bonspiel is FREE of charge. Register online HERE, look for the sign up sheet on the bulletin board or call the curling club at (780) 672-4152.

You can register as an individual or a team but register early as the Family Day Bonspiel is limited to 18 teams. There will be 2 – 4 end games with hot chocolate or coffee as well as cookies after each game. So grab grandpa, grandma, mom, dad, a brother, a sister or a good friend and join us on February 18th. Brooms and sliders available at the club if needed.

Town & Country Bonspiel Winners

The Town and Country Bonspiel was held last weekend, January 4 to 6 with 8 teams playing off in two 4-team round robins. The top 2 teams of each pool played off in the A event and the bottom 2 teams of each pool played off in the B event. Thanks to Ron Baier and his crew for the delicious banquet served on Saturday evening as well as the out-of-town teams who participated.

The A Event winners were the Vikings Alumni team consisting of lead Colton Simard, second Steve Lindberg, third Andrew Klassen and skip Roger Galenza.

The B Event winners were the Old Buggars team consisting of second Scott Malcolm, skip Gordon Berg, third John Kennedy and lead Milo Saby.

Congratulations teams! Thanks to all 8 teams for participating and to the volunteers who helped out at the bar, banquet or cleaning the ice.